5 years later.

Here’s another summer travel to blog about and wow, this summer vacation is getting more and more exciting ! ๐Ÿ™‚

The long wait is over, we are finally returning to our province – and our second home. :)) So last Wednesday (April 22), we packed our things for our night trip of almost 10 hours, and boy, our province has changed a lot – like its been 10 years instead of 5 years !

  • April 23 – Thursday

This morning, we had our breakfast at Tagudin, Ilocos Sur.The last time we went there was April 2009,together with my cousins. I can’t believe how time had flied so fast.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Funny moment of the day : My mother forgot to bring our plastic spoon and forks, so we ‘made’ our own : Plastic cups ! my brother FTW : HIS HANDS. You go my lil bro ๐Ÿ˜›

After our breakfast, we proceeded to our trip and along Sta Cruz, Ilocos Sur,we stopped by the road to have our picture taking. Guess why :))

This is what i like about the roads in the province : It’s near either in the ocean, lake or river ๐Ÿ™‚ If i live there, I will surely have picture taking all day long ๐Ÿ˜› LOL just kidding ๐Ÿ™‚

At around noon, we visited one of the heritage sites in the world and the place I missed the most : Vigan, Ilocos Sur.

20150423_103828

20150423_104054

The place has indeed, really changed. As if I didn’t expected that, but still. I don’t know but there’s one thing about me that if I went to place, I’m expecting it to be the same after many years. LOL. But its a good change, really ๐Ÿ™‚ One thing that remained the same is the vintage feel and the true spirit of Vigan : Historic and Picturesque.

20150423_115446

Mcdonalds, the Vigan style.

I’m amazed on how they preserve the century old houses since I’ve observed that some of the old houses there are on the verge of collapsing. Other old houses are converted to stores and restaurants, and the culture is still intact. You go Ilocos tourism ๐Ÿ™‚ keep it up !

And as what we had done in our past travels, le bring the camera !

20150423_103744

We also rode the famous Calesaย to tour us around the town. ย Photographers are everywhere – there’s this one photographer who took a shot of us while riding the Calesa. How I wished its for a magazine. LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

20150423_110638

20150423_110624

After the tour, we went to Irene’s empanada to fill our hungry bellies. I missed eating empanada !

Before we left Vigan, we visited their church first to give thanks to God for this trip. More and more blessings for us ! ย ๐Ÿ™‚

20150423_115335

20150423_115340

After an hour or so, we finally arrived at our destination. The place we left five years ago, and although many things have changed, I still feel the same as what I’ve had a long time ago – happy. :)) the 10-hour trip is all worth it !

20150423_134641

Hello again, Laoag. P.S I love the clear blue sky.

When we reached our tita’s and mamang’s home, I felt like I was there just months ago. As if time didn’t passed. But looking at the small changes in the house – the new tiles, the CR and their new dog snow – I realized that, oh It’s been a long long time. And I also felt that our travel is not that 10-hour long, maybe because I love travelling or the fact that I really missed long drives and Ilocos. Maybe all of the above. LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

I love the place but man, It’s FREAKIN HOT OUT THERE. I looked at my phone and the temperature widget says that its 37 degrees O___O. Good thing we didn’t spent much of the time at home, since we always go outside. And their water supply has been cut without clear reasons, so we always took a bath at their ancestral house. It’s a bit inconvenient but hey,travelling also means staying out of your comfort zone and its part of the thrill, so it never really bothered anyway.

We had our lunch there and on the menu ? Vegtables and Longganisa my love ! :)) We took a rest first and in the evening after dinner, we went to the town’s plaza. 5 years has really helped and changed the province – there a lot of establishments but no tall buildings yet ( thank God) and its not that remote anymore. It’s good but I hope that they would preserve the cleanliness and the nature of the whole town. ( No to big malls, tall buildings and etc.) Too much structures can destroy the place and plus the pollution too. That’s just a big no no for me.

And by the way, the Plaza really looked cool. Really.Here’s the pictures for proof :

I’m inlove with the lights, SRSLY. And the calmness of the plaza that you cannot find in the city jungle, I like it. More reasons to prefer the rural vs. the urban. :))

Ayo GG ! kkkkk :PP #SNSDlove

We also saw the figure of the Virgin Mary in the Sinking Bell tower that went viral years ago. It’s a bit creepy for me, tbh.

20150423_221146

  • April 24 – Friday

Today is a beach daay ! YAAAY I’m finally going back to my second home, the ocean. Wish my fishtail would grew again. LOL I’m feeling mermaid again :))

Before we went to the beach, we visited first the famous windmills in Bangui, Ilocos Norte. As what I’ve observed in the rest of the Ilocos province, its not that remote anymore since it’s now popular (thanks to the ever growing tourism plus social media). The growing number of tourists we met there is an example.

Processed with VSCOcam

After the visit, we went now to our highlight destination, in Pagudpud, Ilocos Norte. Let’s go to the beach, beach ! *sings starships*. :)))

We stayed at Saud beach resort and the place is still the same, although there are tiny changes. It’s still relaxing and the beach ? next to perfect.

Processed with VSCOcam

Presenting the laboracay of the north.ย 

Before we take a swim, we had our photography moments first with food trips in the middle. Ah, it feels good to be back in my second home !

Processed with VSCOcam

After lunch, we took a swim and wow the water is FREAKING COLD LIKE FROM A SPRING. But it’s more than good since It’s sooooo hot and diving in the water was like diving into a pool with ice cubes. :))) *oh and hello sea weeds. You’re kind of annoying, tbh*

We took a stroll around the resort in the afternoon and everywhere is picture perfect. Why can’t I find a place like this near my home ?

20150424_151532

20150424_181045

After the stroll and lots of picture taking w/ modeling, we decided to swim again in the beach for the last time. The water is more colder since it’s almost sunset. And I didn’t forgot to capture its magic.

20150424_181019

20150424_180818

  • April 25 – Saturday

As you can see, we are not planning to rest and we want to make the most of our trip, so we went to Karingking river in Solsona, Ilocos Norte. We tried finding the resort we had been 5 years ago but sadly, the small river dried up and they closed it. Luckily, there’s a resort situated in their dam and we had lots lots of fun and thrill too !

Gateway to Solosona

Karingking river resort

I thought we won’t have a good swim in the river since the water infront of out cottage had lot of moss. Good thing we went to the dam and not only its fun, but also thrilling ! there are deep in the dam (15 feet i think) and swimming in the man made falls is cool too ! (literally)

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

After Karingking, we also visited Mount View resort also in Ilocos Norte and we just did some picture taking there. Although the place is not yet entirely finished, I can say that its an awesome place and I’m sure it would be a big hit.

  • ย April 26 – Sunday

Today is our rest day from swimming and we visited the Malacanang Of the North and another heritage site – the Paoay church.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Back view of the Malacanang of the north

One of the houses of the late Pres. Marcos, It’s good that they preserved the place(they also added a mini museum inside) and since I’m quite a fan of old houses, I enjoyed going there.

20150426_165354 20150426_165419 20150426_163011

View from the balcony (Paoay lake)

We also visited Paoay church, a popular heritage site. It’s still picturesque as before – and a historical monument, indeed.

20150426_172928

Not only does the church is picture worthy, but the place that surrounds it too ๐Ÿ™‚ I like that they put modern cafes and restaurants around, with some shops in the corners, hence making it a nice small park.

20150426_173147 20150426_173152 20150426_174127

We also visited this pretty cafe and I love their pinakbet with longganisa and etc. toppings pizza !

20150426_180638 20150426_180948

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

And, can i just say that the church is more cooler at night ? Thanks to lights that illuminated the whole church :))

20150426_183325

After Paoay, we stayed at Bon Appetea in San Nicolas for their delicious milk tea + waffle and we exchanged stories, from funny to ghost stories. LMAO.

  • April 27 – Monday

Our last destination for this trip, a river resort in Sarrat, Ilocos Norte. It’s a nice place and their cottages is pretty good too. The only thing that bothered us is the karaokes – good thing it’s far from our cottage and it didn’t last long. LOL.

20150427_120137 20150427_120920 20150427_121206

After a relaxing swim at the resort, we visited some relatives and it was a bit weird since they are my second cousins, they know me well, but i don’t know them O__O But it was good seeing my father and my tita reuniting with their titas, titos and some cousins. Time indeed, really flies so fast.

  • April 28 – Tuesday.

Our Ilocos trip has finally come to an end and It was a sad and a happy moment too. Sad, because our trip has flied so fast and i hate goodbyes. Happy, because after 5 years we managed to come back despite of my parent’s busy schedule. Hope we would return there as soon as possible, or maybe after 2 to 3 years ? well, we won’t know but one thing I’m sure, Ilocos is worth returning for :))

We still have a side trip on our way back home in San Juan Surf Resort in La Union. We stayed there overnight and I loved the place. It gives a classy, yet home like feeling.

The beach is good, with its strong waves and all (that’s why its a surf resort) but I got stung by a jellyfish. Not only me, but the rest of my family. At least those jellyfish are not the big and harmful ones. Oh well. Part of the thrill i guess ๐Ÿ˜›

So, that’s all folks for this throwback/adventure/awesome travel and looking forward for more summer adventures !

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close